Nominations for the 2017 Advocacy Award are now being accepted!

Who deserves to be recognized for exemplifying the spirit behind the CAMSS mission statement: “Advocating for physicians, caring for patients”?

Please complete the nomination form here and submit to by midnight on September 29,2017. 

2016 Winner - Dr. Bonnie Larson

Dr. davinder Sidhu presenting the advocacy award to Dr. bonnie larson at the CAMSS AGM on November 9, 2016.

Dr. davinder Sidhu presenting the advocacy award to
Dr. bonnie larson at the CAMSS AGM on November 9, 2016.

Nomination from Dr. Alan Chu: “Dr. Bonnie Larson is a tireless advocate who I believe embodies the mission statement “Advocating for Physicians, Caring for Patients."  She is truly a phenomenon, bringing physicians of different specialties together, along with non-physician leaders in related sectors, to create ever-growing communities of practice -- all to better serve highly vulnerable patients in our city. Dr. Larson is an inner-city physician and a key player in Calgary's ability to address poverty and health. She founded the Street CCRED (Community-driven, Clinical care, Capacity-building, Research, Education, and Development) Collaborative which partners key organizations in health and housing to provide medical support for highly vulnerable and medically complex patient populations. She is a key contributor to the upcoming Calgary Recovery Services Task Force which drives our city's approach to homelessness. She has helped materialise a palliative care outreach program and an inpatient safe needle program. She works with a community paramedic program to appropriately manage complex patients on the street and in shelters. Her advocacy spans students and residents as Program Director for the Family Medicine Global Health program, a leader in the "global is local" movement. Most importantly, her advocacy reaches every patient she encounters; as an anthropologist, she truly understands her patients and can see ways forward!”


In early 2010, then CAPA president Linda Slocombe suggested CAPA establish an award to present to a CAPA member who best exemplifies the spirit behind our mission statement: Advocating for physicians, caring for patients. She envisioned a plaque with the names of the award recipients presented to each doctors lounge in Calgary and to all six of our rural hospital sites.

The first recipient, Dr. Glenn Comm, was a natural choice due to his yeomans work advocating for CAPA physicians and especially his work to recognize the family doctor crisis.
The following year, former CRMSA (Calgary Regional Medical Staff Association) president, Dr. Rick Anderson received the award.
In 2012 Dr. Philip van der Merwe was honored due to his diligent work for family physicians.
In 2013 Dr. Martin Labrie was recognized for being someone who demonstrated courage under fire in pursuit of advocacy for patients and physicians.
In 2014 Dr. Lloyd Maybaum was recognized as being a tireless advocate for Alberta physicians.
In 2015 Dr. Julian Kyne was recognized as being a physician who embodies the meaning of advocacy.

Promotion of the Advocacy Award begins each September. Nominations begin in October and the award is presented in November at the CAMSS AGM.

Past Advocacy Award Recipients

2016 Dr. Bonnie Larson
2015 Dr. Julian Kyne
2014 Dr. Lloyd Maybaum
2013 Dr. Martin Labrie
2012 Dr. Phillip van der Merwe
2011 Dr. Rick Anderson
2010 Dr. Glenn Comm