

## Memorandum

**Date:** July 30, 2020

To: AHS Appointed Practitioners

From: Medical Staff Bylaws and Rules Review Committee

RE: Medical Staff Bylaws

Alberta Health Services (AHS) and all associated Practitioners are dedicated to providing high-quality care to patients and families. AHS Medical Staff Bylaws (Bylaws) are the guidelines developed by AHS medical staff and AHS medical leadership that set out how we conduct ourselves as we carry out our work on behalf of Albertans.

Developed by AHS medical staff and AHS medical leadership, the Bylaws outline the:

- terms and conditions on which AHS may grant practitioners clinical privileges;
- responsibility of the medical staff to AHS for the quality and safety of all professional services provided by practitioners to patients and to AHS;
- responsibilities of the medical staff and AHS to each other for the organization and conduct of the medical staff, and in particular, the processes relating to medical staff appointments and delineation of clinical privileges;
- administrative structures for the governance of practitioners working in AHS facilities or other AHS Sites of clinical activity.

The Bylaws (and the accompanying documents including Provincial Rules) define the relationship between AHS and AHS practitioners (physicians, dentists, oral and maxillofacial surgeons and podiatrists with an AHS appointment). Our priority is the safe care of Albertans, and we share a joint focus and responsibility for patients and their families.

On July 13, 2020, the Minister of Health provided a directive that AHS conduct a review of the Medical Staff Bylaws within 60 days. Alberta Health has identified that the review will:

- 1. Articulate responsibilities and accountabilities of the AHS Board, medical staff and management.
- 2. Promote patient-centered care and safety processes that recognizes patients are participants in process that involve or affect them.
- 3. Consider expansion of the application of the Bylaws to other medical practitioners such as midwives, pharmacists etc.
- 4. Provide effective, easy to administer mechanisms to remedy behavior that impacts patient or practitioner safety.

The review will be conducted in two phases:

- 1. Accountability and Decision Making: To be achieved within the first 60 days of the directive.
- 2. Modernization: To be achieved beyond the 60 days of the directive.

## Medical Staff Bylaw Review Committee

Our Committee is a free-standing Committee defined by the Bylaws and legislation to review potential changes to the Bylaws and to determine if these changes will be recommended to the Medical Staff and to the Board of AHS. The Committee is composed of equal representation of AHS medical staff and AHS medical leadership.

The work undertaken to fulfill the Minister's directive will ultimately and in due course be presented to our Committee. The timing for this presentation will not occur within the timeframe indicated by the Directive. The ministry is aware of, and supportive of, the processes for reviewing potential changes to AHS Bylaws.

## **Opportunity**

On hearing of the Minister's intent, many interested physicians have already submitted their ideas and suggestions for improving and modernizing the Bylaws. All of these ideas will be brought forward both to the immediate review and also to the Committee. This is an opportunity for you to leverage the energy for change by sharing your ideas and suggestions as all will be considered.

Please submit your ideas and suggestions for Bylaw amendment to AHS.Bylaws@ahs.ca.

We are looking forward to this opportunity to collaborate with Alberta Health, medical staff and health professions as we continue to ensure our Bylaws reflect best practices.

AHS is aware of the great interest from physicians regarding any changes and communication will be forthcoming when more information is available.

## References:

- 1. Bylaws Section 1.6;
- 2. Hospitals Act, Section 17;

The membership of the Committee follows:

Rollie Nichol, Chair Braden Manns Debrah Wirtzfeld Hendrik VanDerWatt Shelley Duggan Art Jaroni Kerri Novak Carl Nohr Jennifer Parker Mark Ewanchuk Edmund Barker Linda Mrkonjic Douglas Faulder Bill Hnydyk Daniel Ryan Owen Heisler Jennifer Bestard